Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Drama and Theater: Introduction

Electronic Resources

Actorama.com: You can search for monologues or scenes from movies, plays, television and books according to gender, source material, type (dramatic, comic, serio-comic). Scripts are not available on this site.

Doollee.com: Search for plays by the number of actors, gender and author. Scripts are not available on this site but you can purchase them from this site.

Dramatists Play Service: Play Finder Search the catalogue of over 3,000 titles. To find some monologues, limit it to a single player and pick a gender (but this will only find solo plays). You may also browse plays by title or by author. Scripts are not available on this site but you can purchase them from this site.

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

Introduction

READ, READ, READ!

The key to a successful performance is finding a character and monologue you can relate to. This guide will help you to find a good collection of plays including monologues from the library's online and print collections in the field of Drama and Theater, as well as web resources on actual plays and critics on them. 

Starting your research

Articles
Articles from the library's online databases provide you with the most recent, scholarly, peer-reviewed and researched information from journals, magazines and reports in Theater and Drama. See the page titled Find Articles for detailed information and links to the article databases. 

Books / eBooks
Use books to get the detailed and historical data and background information on your topic.

Reference books
Use reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias to get the basic ideas and the exact definition on a topic. We have online databases like STAT!Ref for medical specific reference books.

Web Sites
The web can be a great source of digital information hub if you select the right sources. Try using government and educational sites for scholarly  resources. Also try genuine primary information provided by professional organizations. Check out the sites we have added on the page titled Web Sites of this guide.

More Resources

EServer Drama Collection A collection of play scripts divided by era, ranging from classical to contemporary.

Gutenberg Project This site produces free electronic books, including play scripts. Type “drama” in the subject box to find a list of the plays. You may also want to limit the language to “English”. You can also search by title or author.

PlayDatabase.com A database of plays. Search for monologues by era, gender, length and more. Scripts are not available on this site.

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488