Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Surgical Technology: Web sites

Surgical Tech

Basic Rules for APA 7

Basic Rules for Most Sources - provided by Online Writing Lab (OWL)

  • All lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation.

  • All authors' names should be inverted (i.e., last names should be provided first).

  • Authors' first and middle names should be written as initials.

    • For example, the reference entry for a source written by Jane Marie Smith would begin with "Smith, J. M."

    • If a middle name isn't available, just initialize the author's first name: "Smith, J."

  • Give the last name and first/middle initials for all authors of a particular work up to and including 20 authors (this is a new rule, as APA 6 only required the first six authors). Separate each author’s initials from the next author in the list with a comma. Use an ampersand (&) before the last author’s name. If there are 21 or more authors, use an ellipsis (but no ampersand) after the 19th author, and then add the final author’s name.

  • Reference list entries should be alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.

  • For multiple articles by the same author, or authors listed in the same order, list the entries in chronological order, from earliest to most recent.

  • When referring to the titles of books, chapters, articles, reports, webpages, or other sources, capitalize only the first letter of the first word of the title and subtitle, the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and proper nouns.

    • Note again that the titles of academic journals are subject to special rules. See section below.

  • Italicize titles of longer works (e.g., books, edited collections, names of newspapers, and so on).

  • Do not italicize, underline, or put quotes around the titles of shorter works such as chapters in books or essays in edited collections.

Also, present journal titles in full. 

  • Italicize journal titles. 

  • Maintain any nonstandard punctuation and capitalization that is used by the journal in its title. For example, you should use PhiloSOPHIA instead of Philosophia, or Past & Present.

 

MLA Style Guide

Web sites

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Surgical Technologists
This website by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics gives important detailed information related to the Surgical Technologists profession.

Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine: Clinical Services Program
From Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Neurosurgery  

MedlinePlus (National Institutes of Health)
Contains extensive information on over 740 diseases/conditions and prescription and nonprescription drugs. Other key features are a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and hundreds of videos of actual surgical procedures performed at U.S. medical centers in recent years.

MedlinePlus: Surgery
From the National Library of Medicine, authoritative, current information on a wide range of surgeries. Take special note of the sections on Latest News and the interactive patient tutorials.

MedlinePlus: Videos
The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) created these animated videos to explain topics in health and medicine, and to answer frequently asked questions about diseases, health conditions, and wellness issues.

Medscape
Free access to full-text, peer-reviewed clinical medicine articles.

PubMed
Over 17 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950 provided by the National Library of Medicine. Limited full-text. 

Spartanburg Technical College Surgical Technology Web
This site provides a glossary of surgical technology terms and includes photographs of instruments, equip ment, and operating room setups.

Surgical Instruments from Ancient Rome
A display of surgical instruments from antiquity.  

Martindale's: The Virtual Medical Center 
Links to medical dictionaries and glossaries, interactive anatomy browsers, and online medical journals, as well as surgical and anesthesiology sites.

Occupation Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
'With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.'

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488