|
The library is open now. Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7. To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted. No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database. Have a question? Ask us!
|
"America's History of Slavery Began Long Before Jamestown"
"The arrival of the first captives to the Jamestown Colony, in 1619, is often seen as the beginning of slavery in America—but enslaved Africans arrived in North America as early as the 1500s." - Crystal Ponti. https://www.history.com/news/american-slavery-before-jamestown-1619. (History.com).
"Four hundred years ago this month, the first enslaved people from Africa arrived in the Virginia colony. To observe the anniversary of American slavery, The New York Times Magazine launched The 1619 Project to reframe America’s history through the lens of slavery. The project lead, reporter Nikole Hannah-Jones, joins Hari Sreenivasan to discuss." PBS NewsHour. August 18, 2019.
APA Style Guide
APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation
Chicago Style Manual
Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.
Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.
MLA Style Guide
