LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: African American History & Studies: Articles

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Refer to this quick guide to create your References list and help with in-text citation.

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

MLA Style Guide - 8th edition

Article Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years.

Covers all key journals in the history discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to standard search features, this database allows for searching by time period.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Contains an extensive collection of essential legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) on along with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets, poems & songs, and much more from the 18th-20th centuries.
JSTOR
Complete historical full text of all issues of peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
Project MUSE
Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
Texas Reference Center
Articles from periodicals, reference books, and newspapers on Texas history, culture, and life, biographies of important Texans, and more.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
Maps of property and land-use records for Texas towns and cities for over 100 years.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search dozens of complete reference books on arts, business, education, history, law, literature, sciences, and technology, including the popular sets of Short Stories for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Drama for Students.

Ask a Librarian!

The Library is Open Now!

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted. No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

	Phone: Reference: 832.559.4211 Circulation: 832.559.4206
	Chat with a Librarian
	Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
	SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488