LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: Health Sciences 2025: Medical Laboratory Technology

What is Medical Laboratory Technology?

Welcome to the Research Guide for Medical Laboratory Technology, AAS!

Medical Laboratory Technicians analyze laboratory findings to check the accuracy of the results, and conduct chemical analysis of body fluids, including blood, urine, or spinal fluid, to determine presence of normal or abnormal components.

This guide contains resources for the Medical Laboratory Technology program. Using the navigation tools, you will find information and resources for databases, journals, specific course information, and other resources designed for the Medical Laboratory Technology student.

Medical Laboratory Technology Library Databases

AltHealthWatch
Full text for 180 publications, including many peer-reviewed journals, in the areas of complementary and alternative medicine.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Full-text from a variety of medical, nursing and allied health sources: journals, reference books, pamphlets.
Nursing and Allied Health
Find comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and more.
MedicLatina
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journals, including full-text of nearly 100 peer-reviewed publications.

Micromedex
A wide range of clinical databases, including information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine

Journals

Canadian Journal of Medical Laboratory Science
A quarterly print publication, it offers readers interesting views on trends and issues specific to the medical laboratory profession in Canada
Medical Laboratory Observer: MLO
Established in 1969, Medical Laboratory Observer (MLO) connects clinical laboratory professionals with peer-authored articles, continuing education (CE) courses, lab management tips, new testing techniques in molecular diagnostics, infection prevention, oncology and pathology practices, regulatory updates, industry trends, and new product reviews.

Research Guide Feedback Poll

Is this Research Guide Helpful?

Was this resource guide helpful?

Yes, it was helpful

Yes, somewhat

Unsure

No, only a little

No, it wasn't helpful at all

Was this resource guide helpful?: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, it was helpful: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, somewhat: 0 votes (0%)

Unsure: 0 votes (0%)

No, only a little: 0 votes (0%)

No, it wasn't helpful at all: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0

Book Suggestions for Medical Laboratory Technology

Bailey and Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology by Patricia M. Tille
Call Number: QR67 .B37 2022

ISBN: 9780323681056

Publication Date: 2021-06-29
Mathematics for the Clinical Laboratory by Lorraine J. Doucette
Call Number: RB38.3 .D68 2021

ISBN: 9780323554824

Publication Date: 2020-08-21
Rodak's Hematology by Jeanine M. Walenga; Elaine M. Keohane; Catherine N. Otto
Call Number: RB45 .D49 2020

ISBN: 9780323530453

Publication Date: 2019-04-18
Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa Noel Pagana
ISBN: 9780323675192

Publication Date: 2021-01-24

Medical Laboratory Technology Video Resources

American Society for Clinical Pathology YouTube Channel
ASCP is the world's largest society of pathologists and laboratory professionals comprising pathologists, doctoral-level laboratory scientists, and a host of laboratory professionals.
American Society of Hematology YouTube Channel
The American Society of Hematology (ASH) (www.hematology.org) is the world's largest professional society of hematologists dedicated to furthering the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of disorders affecting the blood.
ASCLS YouTube Channel
The American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) works to advance the expertise of clinical laboratory professionals.