Psychology: Online Reference Books - (Credo Ref.)

In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, this looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self.

Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, this uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.

Contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.

An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.

This accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms, landmark case studies and experiments, primary source materials, applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports, and career information.

Seeks to inform readers with accurate data written in a lively, accessible, and engaging way. Bridges the gap by taking you on a journey through the history and science of psychology and showing how psychology affects us all.

Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.

Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.

Updated 4th edition; explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

2nd edition; offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice.

A curated set of educational videos covering current topics of importance in Psychology.

Describes the scientific study of psychological disorders. As well as detailing mental disorders, it examines social attitudes toward them and treatments that have been used through the centuries. Other important issues covered include the way in which the number and type of recognized mental disorders constantly changes, and how psychological difficulties affect a child's learning and social experiences.

Discusses the nature of developmental change from conception to adulthood. It considers the most important theories of cognitive development and examines the ingenious methods developed to measure cognitive abilities in young children. It also investigates perceptual, emotional, social, and memory development.

Explores the development of psychology, from its roots in philosophy and natural science to the scientific research of the 19th century. It also charts the emergence and impact of experimental psychology and the development of psychological theories throughout the 20th century.

Explores the workings of the brain, including its ability to identify and interpret important information while discarding other sensory input, and how it stores and retrieves memories. It investigates past and present theories of learning, how we develop language skills and process language, problem solving, and the sources of creativity and inspiration.

Looks at how our understanding of the brain and mind has developed. It describes in detail the workings of the brain, and investigates how our perceptual systems and the brain work to interpret the sensations we experience. The concept of mind and consciousness, and the role that emotions play in both mental health and our everyday lives, are also discussed in detail.

Examines people as individuals and as social animals. It analyzes the notions of personality and intelligence and considers how people relate to and communicate with each other and society. The chapters discuss the types of social interaction and the rules that guide them, as well as the feelings and thoughts that individuals have about society, social situations, and the people around them.

Most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.

Updated and expanded edition; includes some of the world's foremost experts on expertise sharing their scientific knowledge of expertise and expert performance and shows how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of development, training, reasoning, knowledge, and social support. Reviews innovative methods for measuring experts' knowledge and performance in relevant tasks.

With the field of personal relationships having grown dramatically in the past quarter century, this volume serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

A guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.

Provides individual entries that introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family.

Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.

Unique text in helping readers understand how each theory of motivation and behavioral, neurobiological, attribution, and other models and views and defines a particular concept within each theory.

Presents hundreds of the most representative selections from the vast array of Jungs books, essays, correspondence, lectures, seminars, and interviews, as well as the celebrated Red Book, in which Jung describes his own fearsome confrontation with the unconscious.

Tells a radical new story about propaganda, fake news and information warfare and their toxic impact on the communications revolution of the past twenty years. It explains how propaganda invades the human psyche, in what ways it does so, and in what contexts.

From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology.

Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Comprehensive coverage of many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.

Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.

The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders.

An A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Written for clinical professionals and students in training to aid in clinical awareness, diagnostic accuracy, and intervention successfulness.

Presents hundreds of articles on eating disorders and obesity, including causes, symptoms, and treatment options.

Entries offer information on the causes, history, and psychology of suicide and includes coverage of current research and listings of associations and crisis centers.

Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.

Distills an amazing amount of information into a book that is easy to read and navigate. Coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more.

A handy guide to the topics you need to know about whether studying or working in the field of learning disabilities. The A-Z format allows you to "dip in" and quickly find relevant information on topics ranging from Autism to Rights and from Advocacy to Challenging Behaviors.

Aims to broaden and define the conceptual framework of disability studies for readers and practitioners in the field and beyond. The volume engages some of the most pressing debates of our time, such as prenatal testing, euthanasia, accessibility in public transportation and the workplace, post-traumatic stress, and questions about the beginning and end of life.

Explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, this text also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.