Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

LSC-Tomball Research Guide Portal: Books

LSC-Tomball Research Guides

Browsing the Shelves

Use the Library of Congress (LC) and Dewey Decimal (DD) system call numbers from the chart below to browse the shelves to find materials on the topics mentioned below.
Ask a Librarian if you need help!

Subject LC Call No. DD Call No.
North American History E 45 973
Indians of North America E 75-99 970.1
General United States history E 151-180 973
Military, Political and Diplomatic history

E 181-185

355
Colonial history

E 186-199

973.2
The Revolution 1775-1783

E 200-298

973.3
Revolution through early Nineteenth Century

E 300-398

973.4
The War of 1812

E 351

973.5
Mexican War

E 400-415

972.03
Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845-1861 E 415-440 973
Slavery E 444 973.71
Civil War period E 456-655 973.73
Abraham Lincoln E 457 355, 920, 973.8
Ulysses Grant E 672 355, 920, 973.8
Early Women's rights advocates HQ 1412 324
American voting rights history JK 1846 342
Military Leaders UB 210 973

 

Online Catalog

Search the LSCS Libraries' Online Catalog:


Keywords Anywhere   Subject   Title   Author

 


Use the above search box
to find books, videos and digital collections owned by Lone Star College, Harris County Public Library and Montgomery County Memorial Library Systems.

If the book you need is not available in our catalog / system, you can request it through LSCS Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form.
Once the requested material has been received and placed on Hold at your local college library; you will be notified by either email, mail or phone that the material is ready for you to pick it up. Please allow up to 15 working days for processing, if you are sending an ILL request. (This LSCS ILL form / service is for LSCS card holders only)

WorldCat 
WorldCat is a searchable catalog of books and other materials in over 45,000 libraries worldwide. No full text, but can help you locate books locally that aren't available in our system. You can use the Inter-library Loan form link mentioned above, to request the book from another library.

 

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

Databases for eBooks

Search for more books on your topic using these online / ebook databases listed below.  (Some of these eBooks are available to download into your mobile devices.)