Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for eBooks
Search for more books on your topic using these online / ebook databases listed below. (Some of these eBooks are available to download into your mobile devices.)
EBSCO eBook Collection
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
Includes materials from over 650 reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Search dozens of complete reference books on arts, business, education, history, law, literature, sciences, and technology, including the popular sets of Short Stories for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Drama for Students.
Examples of only a few books from our databases for ebooks. See the left box to search for ebooks in these databases for ebooks
Classical Music Criticism by
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection
Publication Date: 1996-07-01
The first new survey of the field in more than 60 years, this study concentrates on the basics of music criticism. Because it focuses on core issues and proven principles, the book is likely to become the standard work on the subject.
The Bible in Music by
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
There have been numerous publications in the last decades on the Bible in literature, film, and art. But until now, no reference work has yet appeared on the Bible as it appears in Western music. In The Bible in Music: A Dictionary of Songs, Works, and More, scholars Siobhán Dowling Long and John F. A. Sawyer correct this gap in Biblical reference literature, providing for the first time a convenient guide to musical interpretations of the Bible..
The Music Industry Handbook by
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collectioni
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
The Music Industry Handbook, Second edition is an expert resource and guide for all those seeking an authoritative and user-friendly overview of the music industry today. The new edition includes coverage of the latest developments in music streaming, including new business models created by the streaming service sector..
Planet Beethoven by
Call Number: Ebook Collection (ProQuest)
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
In Planet Beethoven, Mina Yang makes the compelling case that classical music in the twenty-first century is just as vibrant and relevant as ever--but with significant changes that give us insight into the major cultural shifts of our day. Perusing events, projects, programs, writings, musicians, and compositions, Yang shines a spotlight on the Western art music tradition. The book covers an array of topics, from the use of Beethoven's "Für Elise" in YouTube clips and hip-hop, to the marketing claims of Baby Einstein products, and the new forms of music education introduced by Gustavo Dudamel, conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic. While the book is global in its outlook, each chapter investigates the unique attributes of a specific performer, performance, or event. One chapter reflects on Chinese pianist Yuja Wang's controversial performance at the Hollywood Bowl, another explores the highly symbolic Passion 2000 Project in Stuttgart, Germany. Sure to be of interest to students, professionals, and aficionados, Planet Beethoven traces the tensions that arise from the "classical" nature of this tradition and our rapidly changing world. Ebook Edition Note: One image has been redacted.
Ray Charles by
Call Number: Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Publication Date: 2004-01-22
Ray Charles: Man and Music is a complete biography of this seminal singer/pianist who has been active on the American music scene since the mid-'50s. Originally published in 1995 by Penguin Books, and universally hailed as the definitive biography, this new edition will bring Charles's life up to date, covering the last 7 years of his life.