Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Geography: Web Sites

Search the Web

Google Web Search

Google Search

Google Web Search

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

Free Web

Library of Congress - Collection of maps
Digitized maps from a vast category from the collection of the Library of Congress.

Getty Theasaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) Online
A searchable database.
"TGN focuses on places relevant to art, architecture, and related disciplines, recording names, relationships, place types, dates, notes, and coordinates for current and historical cities, nations, empires, archaeological sites, lost settlements, and physical features; it is a thesaurus, may be linked to GIS and maps (e.g., Thebes, Diospolis, Ottoman Empire, Mogao Caves, Ch'ien-fu-tung, Ganges River)."

Google Maps
A web site to find places and locations developed by Google. "It offers satellite imagery, aerial photography, street maps, 360° interactive panoramic views of streets, real-time traffic conditions, and route planning for traveling by foot, car, bicycle and air, or public transportation."

National Geographic Maps
National Geographic has been publishing excellent wall maps, travel maps, recreation maps, cartography and atlases for more than a century.  One can explore more than 800 map titles and and make purchase decisions. 

USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer 
USGS provides a map to find any place in the US to explore. Historical maps on the place can then be retrieved by clicking on the location. Maps of places from other countries are also available. 

Country Information Sites:

Ask a Librarian!

The Library is Open now!

Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488