LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: Health Sciences 2025: Nursing

Where to Find Nursing Articles

AltHealthWatch
Full text for 180 publications, including many peer-reviewed journals, in the areas of complementary and alternative medicine.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
Nursing and Allied Health
Find comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and more.
MedicLatina
Spanish-language medical research and investigative journals, including full-text of nearly 100 peer-reviewed publications.
MEDLINE with MeSH
Medical research; National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE database with Medical Subject Headings. No full text.

Micromedex
A wide range of clinical databases, including information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine

TIPS: When searching the research databases or library catalog:

Add key terms related to nursing: patient care, diagnosis, monitor, complications, care plans, symptoms, nursing assessment, patient education
Combine any synonyms with OR and parentheses: (pregnancy OR obstetrics OR gestational); now add other key terms with AND between each term: (pregnancy OR obstetrics OR gestational) AND diabetes AND edema
** Insert an asterisk after the root word to find all variations of a term: (pregnan* OR obstetric* OR gestat*) AND diabet* AND edema

All Nurses
Peer-to-peer nursing community web site; offers a variety of information and resources for nurses, including some featured content for nursing students.
American Nurse Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. Founded in 1896, and has members in all 50 states and U.S. territories.
Texas Board of Nursing (Laws and Rules - Nursing Practice Act)
Link to the text of the current Nursing Practice Act - official laws for Texas.
Texas Nursing Students Association
Texas Nursing Students' Association, Inc. (TNSA) is a student nursing association dedicated to promoting professionalism and leadership for today's students.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Ebook Central by ProQuest
Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.

These journals are available online and print at the Library of the Health and Sciences

International Clinical Educators Learning Center (for LSC-Tomball HS students only)
Video library featuring actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatments; For login information, send us an email @ tcref@lonestar.edu or text us
@ 281.826.4488.

Nursing & Allied Health
Find comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and more.

Is this Research Guide Helpful?

Was this resource guide helpful?

Yes, it was helpful

Yes, somewhat

Unsure

No, only a little

No, it wasn't helpful at all

Was this resource guide helpful?: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, it was helpful: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, somewhat: 0 votes (0%)

Unsure: 0 votes (0%)

No, only a little: 0 votes (0%)

No, it wasn't helpful at all: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0