LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: Health Sciences 2025: Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy Library Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Full-text from a variety of medical, nursing and allied health sources: journals, reference books, pamphlets.

Micromedex
A wide range of clinical databases, including information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine

Nursing and Allied Health
Find comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and more.

Helpful Keywords

To find resources related to Occupational Therapy, you can use these keywords:
(Note: Use an asterisk (*) with the root word to expand your book and article searches. For example, entering Occupation* will retrieve articles / books on occupation, occupational, etc.)

ADL (activities of daily living)
Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
Autism
Disability
Function
Gerontology
IADL (instrumental activities of daily living at home and in the community)
Mobility
Occupation (daily life activities in which people engage)
Occupational therapy
Rehabilitation
Stress Management
Therapeutic

Occupational Therapy Book Suggestions

Transformative Physical Rehabilitation by Dubouloz Wilner
ISBN: 9780776629018

Publication Date: 2021-09-08
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Medicine by Nathan I. Cherny (Editor); Marie T. Fallon (Editor); Stein Kaasa (Editor); Russell K. Portenoy (Editor); David C. Currow (Editor)
ISBN: 9780198821328

Publication Date: 2021-11-23
The Essential Guide for Newly Qualified Occupational Therapists by Ruth Parker (Editor); Julia Badger (Editor); Ruth van der Weyden (Contribution by); Dawn Simm (Contribution by); Melanie Elliott (Contribution by); Sean O'Sullivan (Contribution by); Sara Brewin (Contribution by); Jo McKee (Contribution by); Kate Sheehan (Contribution by); Theresa Baxter (Foreword by); Nick Pollard (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781785922688

Publication Date: 2018-04-19

Occupational Therapy Streaming Video

AJOT Authors and Issues Series
This is an interview series sponsored by the American Journal of Occupational Therapy (AJOT). Led by AJOT’s editor-in-chief, Dr. Stacey Reynolds, AJOT staff will select one new article to feature each month and take a deep dive into the content with the authors.
DITKI
Find interactive tutorials, videos, flashcards and review questions to illustrate concepts related to anatomy & physiology and neuroanatomy. Use the Register link to create your account using your LoneStar.edu email. If you have already created an account, then go directly to the Login In page.

Our subscription provides access to the Anatomy & Physiology course and Neuroanatomy course.

Additional Occupational Therapy Resources

American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Your first source for research to support evidence-based occupational therapy practice.
American Occupational Therapy Assocation
Provides the essential resources and guidance that inspires occupational therapy practitioners and students.
Texas Occupational Therapy Association
The Texas Occupational Therapy Association (TOTA) is a non-profit 501(c)6 professional association incorporated in Texas that was established for the benefit of professionals and students of occupational therapy.

Research Guide Feedback Poll

Is this Research Guide Helpful?

Was this resource guide helpful?

Yes, it was helpful

Yes, somewhat

Unsure

No, only a little

No, it wasn't helpful at all

Was this resource guide helpful?: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, it was helpful: 0 votes (0%)

Yes, somewhat: 0 votes (0%)

Unsure: 0 votes (0%)

No, only a little: 0 votes (0%)

No, it wasn't helpful at all: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0