Skip to main content

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Psychology: Find articles

This research guide will help you find research articles in Psychology from scholarly / Peer-reviewed journals from a library database.

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

 

     Chat with a Librarian

 



 

               Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu

 

                     SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488

   

   
 

How To Find A Database

To find a database, go to https://www.lonestar.edu/library/article-databases.htm and choose from the list of subjects. If you are not sure how to get to a database that you can search, click on the document below.

 

Finding an Article from Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

1. Go to http://www.lonestar.edu/library/article-databases.htm
2. Choose Social Sciences from the list of subjects.
3. Select Articles
4. Choose and click on Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from the list of databases.
[Note: If you are not on campus, you will need to enter the 14 digit barcode found on the back of your student ID / library card before the database will open. No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login.]

How to search Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

After you have clicked on Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection by following the instruction mentioned above, do the following:

1. Click on Advanced Search

                                                                  

Advanced Search

A list of articles will come up on the screen. Click on a title / blue text to see the full article. See the menu on the right of the list to Cite / Print / Email the article to yourself. 

Citation Help

APA Citation Help (LSCS Libraries)

Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010

MLA Style: Works Cited
(LSCS Libraries)

Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
(from the OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations
(from the University of Chicago Press)

KnightCite Citation Creator
Select the correct style (MLA, APA, Chicago) before entering information. This tool helps format information sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago style, but it is not perfect, so recheck your citations with a library guide.

Library links

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Lone Star College-Tomball Community Library
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               30555 Tomball Parkway
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Tomball, Texas 77375