LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: Research Guide Portal:: Biology & Nutrition

Databases for Biology & Nutrition

Gale in Context: Science
(Gale) Articles from magazines, journals and news sources, in addition to experiments, videos, and podcasts on the most significant current topics
SciTech Premium Collection
Full-text from an international collection of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Ebook Central by ProQuest
Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.

Academic Video Online: Premium
Limited historical news reports, documentaries, instructional materials, and full-length videos on various topics.
Films on Demand
High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS.
Kanopy
Stream video source of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries.

To search the LSCS databases on a personal device, you will need to enter the 14-digit library barcode located on the back of your Lone Star ID/ library card. If you do not have a Lone Star ID/ library card, use your MyLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login (see image). If you want to get a library barcode, fill out the Library Card Request Form.

Need help finding using library databases? CHAT with a librarian!

Websites for Biology

Khan Academy: Biology- The biology archive contains legacy biology course content.
Biology Online -Biology Online is the world’s most comprehensive database of Biology terms and topics. Since 2001 it has been the resource of choice for professors, students, and professionals needing answers to Biology questions.
iBiology -Search our library of 600+ biology videos including lectures, talks, and animations
CELLS alive! -Welcome to CELLS alive! Explore, Study, Play Cells, Microbes and the Immune System.
The Biology Project (University of Arizona) -Learn about the cells that make up all living systems, their organelles, and the differences between living cells and viruses.

Nutrition Websites

USDA - Nutrition
Nutrition.gov is powered by the USDA Science and offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices.
Nutrition Source
The Nutrition Source is a leading authority on food and nutrition knowledge, providing science-based guidance for healthy living.

Ebooks for BIology

Introduction to Human Nutrition by Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); Thomas R. Hill (Editor); Alison M. Gallagher (Editor); Hester H. Vorster (Editor); The Earl of Selborne GBE FRS DL (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781119477013

Publication Date: 2019-10-02

This textbook provides the scientific basis of nutrition in the context of systems and health approaches, exploring the core principles of nutrition.
The Role of Protein and Amino Acids in Sustaining and Enhancing Performance
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780585135779

This book is the latest in a series of publications designed to inform both civilian and military scientists and personnel about issues related to nutrition and military service.