Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

U.S. History since 1877: Free Web

This study guide provides options to start the research process of finding materials in US history. We have circulating books (that you can borrow), reference books (that you can use in the library only), electronic books (can read on the computer screen

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

Free Web

Gilded Age
"“The Gilded Age” is the term used to describe the tumultuous years between the Civil War and the turn of the twentieth century. The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today was a famous satirical novel by Mark Twain set in the late 1800s, and was its namesake. During this era, America became more prosperous and saw unprecedented growth in industry and technology..."

African American Timeline: 1850-1925
"A timeline chronicling major events and notable people effecting African American History from the years 1852 through 1925.", provided by Library of Congress.

US History Primary Source Timeline
"Explore important topics and moments in U.S. history through historical primary sources from the Library of Congress."

Progressive Era 
Information on US history (1890 - 1929) from Khan Academy. The "Progressive Era" was "an era of intense social and political reform aimed at making progress toward a better society."

Progressive Era to New Era
Information and primary source materials on progressive era provided by the Library of Congress.

Military Conflicts in US History
"This page provides information about military conflicts involving the United States; including the American Revolution, the War of 1812, the Indian Wars, Dominican Republic, Bosnia, and more."

Great War and Jazz Age
During this time of 1914 - 1920, World war I, also known as the Great War, started and ended. African culture became popular and numerous artists such as Jazz musicians Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington were spotlighted.  

Depression and WWII 
Information on the time period from 1929 - 1945, from the Smithsonian: National Museum of American History.

Modern Era 
Information on the modern era from 1946 to present, mainly about US efforts to help Europe to recover from WW II, and its involvement in wars with several countries, provided by USEmbassy.gov.

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488