Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Plagiarism: How Do I Cite My Materials?

How do I cite?

There are several ways to cite the materials you use in your projects. Make sure to find out from your professor what style to follow for your bibliography. Usually you will need to cite internally (in-text citations and footnotes) and in a bibliography at the end of your paper / project. Think of your bibliography as credits at the end of the film. Everyone who was involved in making the project possible deserves credit.

See the links on the right about the citation style guides on three most commonly used citation styles put together by LSC-Tomball librarians. 

When / What to cite

Internal citations in the paper itself are necessary after a direct quote, which should always be in quotation marks, or after an idea has been paraphrased. These citations usually appear at the end of a sentence or paragraph.

Will anyone really know if I do not cite sources used?

Professors will often be able to tell if your writing or presentation is an original creation or from someone else. They also will want to make sure that the initial creator of the works used is being given proper credit. This practice is ethical and legal. If you didn't give credit properly, your integrity and class grade would likely suffer. Stealing words and ideas is considered theft.

Citation Styles

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide