Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Occupational Therapy: Web sites

This research guide will help you find books, ebooks, articles, audio-visuals and professional / educational web sites to assist you in your research related to Occupational Therapy.

Basic Rules for APA 7

APA Guide to create a References page

APA Guide to In-text Citation

Citation examples in APA format 

Helpful Internet Resources for Occupational Therapy Assistants

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Occupational Therapy Assistants & Aides
This website by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics gives important detailed information related to the Occupational Therapy Assistants and Aides profession.

HighWire Press (Stanford University)
HighWire is a global provider of digital publishing solutions. Includes the largest archive of a free full-text scholarly publishing community of science journals, with innovative technology that provides one million plus free full-text articles.

MedlinePlus (National Institutes of Health)
Contains extensive information on over 740 diseases/conditions and prescription and nonprescription drugs. Other key features are a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and hundreds of videos of actual surgical procedures performed at U.S. medical centers in recent years.

PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners (ECPTOTE)
This Texas state agency is responsible for licensing OTAs in Texas. OTA licensure and other information can be found here. 

National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy Inc. (NBCOT)
NBCOT is the credentialing agency that provides certification for the OT profession.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act. Search this site for general and OT related ADA information.

National Health Information Center (NHIC)
NHIC publishes a directory of organizations able to provide answers to health related questions. NHIC also helps connect health professionals and consumers to the organizations that can best answer their questions by providing up-to-date contact information for the most reliable resources.

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Ergonomics (fitting a job to a person) Information. OSHA's site provides information for reducing musculoskeletal disorders (MSD), injuries and illnesses in the workplace that affect the muscles, nerves, blood vessels, ligaments and tendons.

Cornucopia of Disability Information (CODI)
CODI serves as a directory of disability information and a repository of electronic disability documents. 

The Hosford Muscle Tables: Skeletal Muscles of the Human Body
This site is an index of detailed information about the musculoskeletal system of the body.

OT Assessment and Outcome Measures
"Occupational therapists providing outpatient therapy services to Medicare beneficiaries must report functional data in the form of G-Codes and modifiers to the Medicare program in order to receive reimbursement under Part B. Therapists are not required to use specific assessment tools in the selection of G-code modifiers, they are only required to rely on their clinical and professional judgment." This is a list of all OT related Assessment and Outcomes measures. 

OT Seeker
"OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions ... provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy."

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488