Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

EDUC 1300 - Career Exploration: Get Started ...

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488

 

Introduction

One of the goals of this course is to help you choose the major and career that is right for you. This guide will provide you with resources needed to explore career options and research the career you have chosen.

  • Check out Lone Star College's Career Services website for helpful links and information.

Starting your research

Articles
Articles from the library's online databases provide you with the most recent and researched information from videos, eBooks, journals and magazines. See the page titled Find Articles for detailed information on your topic and links to the databases. 

Books / eBooks
Use books to get the detailed and historical data and background information on your topic.

Reference books
Use reference books like dictionaries and encyclopedias to get a basic idea and the exact definition of a topic. We have online databases like Credo Reference (click on the link for this database under the Find Article page) that contains reference books on a wide array of subjects.

Videos
Find our databases for streaming videos on a variety of subjects under the page titled Find Videos - a few sample videos are embedded on that page as well for you to give you an understanding of what those databases are.