Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

FAQ for LSC-Tomball Students: Types of Articles

This guide answers frequently asked questions that have arisen while the library has been closed due to the Coronavirus pandemic. If you are a new student or new to using online library resources, check here for answers to common questions.

Types of Articles

Your professor may ask you to find scholarly or peer reviewed articles for an assignment. Here is some terminology and hints on how to search for articles that you may find helpful. 

A scholarly article is an article that has been written by a formally, highly educated individual that conducts research in a specific field. 

A peer-reviewed article is an article that has undergone a review process conducted by scholars in the same field as the author. The scholars critically evaluate the article prior to publication in an academic or scholarly journal. 

An academic or scholarly journal is a periodical that contains a collection of original work written by scholars conducting academic research in a particular field. 

Restricting Your Research to Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles

Some databases have the ability to restrict your search results to peer-reviewed articles only. You will see images of two example databases below. You may also wish to restrict your search results to full-text only so you know you are being presented with information the library has access to. You may also restrict the range of publication dates in some databases if that is important to your research. 

If you cannot locate any search limit fields, look under the "Advanced Search" option when applicable. 

 

Screenshot of EBSCO search page

 

 

 

 

Screenshot of EBSCO search results

 

 

 

 

Screenshot of Gale in Context Advanced Search

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488