Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Nursing: Web Sites

This guide will help you find information in books, eBooks, articles (from professional and peer-reviewed journals), and audio-visuals to assist you with research and study preparation.

Ask a Librarian!

Though the library is physically closed, Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted.  No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488

 

Web Sites

National Student Nurses Association
National organization for nursing students; the organization's mission is to help students preparing for licensure become accountable leaders and members of the profession. 

Texas Board of Nursing (Nurse Portal) 
Web site for official Texas board; provides information about licensure and exams, laws and rules, and news in the field. 

Texas Board of Nursing (Laws and Rules - Nursing Practice Act) 
Link to the text of the current Nursing Practice Act - official laws for Texas.

Texas Nursing Students Association 
Texas Nursing Students' Association, Inc. (TNSA) is a student nursing association dedicated to promoting professionalism and leadership for today's students. We represent over 3,000 student nurses from across the state preparing for initial licensure as registered nurses.

Federal Government Web Sites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
From the US Department of Health & Human Services; provides data and research for health care systems and professionals to help them improve care for their patients. 

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Official web site of the CDC, includes extensive guidelines on infection control, immunizations, and hazardous substances. Includes specialty sites such as National Center for Health Statistics. 

Food and Drug Administration 
The FDB is responsible for protecting the public health through the control and supervision of food safety, tobacco products, dietary supplements, prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceutical drugs (medications), vaccines, bio-pharmaceuticals, blood transfusions, medical devices, electromagnetic radiation emitting devices (ERED), cosmetics, animal foods & feed and veterinary products. 

National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Connect to get to the many institutes that are under the jurisdiction of the NIH. (For example: NCI - National Cancer Institute). Includes specialty sites for various diseases and conditions. 

Nursing Web Sites

Allnurses.com
Peer-to-peer nursing community web site; offers a variety of information and resources for nurses, including some featured content for nursing students.  

American Nurses Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. Founded in 1896, and has members in all 50 states and U.S. territories. 
NursingWorld is the official web site for the American Nurses Association (ANA); provides information on practice, ethics, health and safety, and more.

NursingCenter
From Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (publishers of the American Journal of Nursing; offers clinical resources, nursing student resources, and career information.

Nurse.com
News and resources for practicing nurses.