Women - Gender - Diversity, Equity and Inclusion - LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides at Lone Star College

Women & Gender

Below is a sample collection of books on women, diversity and inclusion ...

Gender Equality at Work by Nitasha Ramparsad
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781869228026
Publication Date: 2019-09-02
"Gender Equality at Work is a practical, easy-to-implement guide for HR practitioners on how to use gender mainstreaming as a strategy to address gender equality in the workplace. Gender Equality at Work will show you how to circumvent many of the barriers to implementing gender mainstreaming..."
The Paradox of Gender Equality by Kristin A. Goss
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection
ISBN: 9780472118519
Publication Date: 2012-12-05
"Drawing on original research, Kristin A. Goss examines how women's civic place has changed over the span of more than 120 years, how public policy has driven these changes, and why these changes matter for women and American democracy. Suffrage, which granted women the right to vote and invited their democratic participation, provided a dual platform for the expansion of women's policy agendas. As measured by women's groups'appearances before the U.S. Congress, women's collective political engagement continued to grow between 1920 and 1960—when many conventional accounts claim it declined—and declined after 1980, when it might have been expected to grow. This waxing and waning was accompanied by major shifts in issue agendas, from broad public interests to narrow feminist interests. ..."
The Presidency and Women by Janet M. Martin
Call Number: EBSCO eBook Collection
ISBN: 9781585442454
Publication Date: 2003-05-20
"Although no woman has yet served as president of the United States, women have played important roles within the executive branch—and they have found many ways to exert pressure on the president. In this imaginative and illuminating work, presidential scholar Janet M. Martin studies the influence of women on and in the American executive branch. During the Kennedy administration, the President's Commission on the Status of Women (1962) and the passage of the Equal Pay Act (1963) were milestones in the history of the relationship between women and the executive branch..."

Find articles on your topic by searching these databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years.
Covers all key journals in the history discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to standard search features, this database allows for searching by time period.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Complete historical full text of all issues of peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Ebook Central by ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.

Women in the WorkPlace 2020
A 63 page report by LeanIn.Org and Mckinsey, tracking the progress of women in corporate America. The report includes data that reflects contributions from 317 companies, more than 40,000 people surveyed on their workplace experiences, and more than 45 in-depth interviews. The pipeline data is employer-provided information in 2019 and the field data is up to July - August 2020.

National Diversity Council
"The National Diversity Council is a forerunner of community-based, national organizations that champion diversity and inclusion across the country. It is currently made up of state and regional councils, the National Women’s Council, the Council for Corporate Responsibility, and the Center for Community Leadership."

Workplaces that work for women - work for everyone
"Founded in 1962, Catalyst drives change with pioneering research, practical tools, and proven solutions to accelerate and advance women into leadership—because progress for women is progress for everyone."

Below are a few sample videos from our databases. Search for more videos on your topic from these databases listed below:

Academic Video Online: Premium
Limited historical news reports, documentaries, instructional materials, and full-length videos on various topics.
Films on Demand
High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS.
Kanopy
Stream video source of classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Women - Gender

Women & Gender