Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSC-Tomball Community Library research guides banner

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Race and Ethnicity

Library Hours

                            Summer Hours:
Monday - Friday: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday: Closed 

Race and Ethnicity

Anti-racism is defined as "opposition to prejudice and persecution on grounds of race, and support for policies that promote equality among and tolerance between groups of different racial origins." - The Chambers Dictionary 
"anti-racism." The Chambers Dictionary, C.M. Schwarz, Chambers Harrap, 13th edition, 2015. Credo Reference, http://lscsproxy.lonestar.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/chambdict/anti_racism/0?institutionId=5037.

Below is a sample collection of books on Race & Ethnicity, Diversity and Inclusion ...

Find articles on your topic by searching these databases:

Code Switch | Race. In Your Face.
A blog / podcast site of NPR. "A multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting."

Race and Ethnicity in Higher Education
Web site with information about reports, services and programs of American Council of Education (ACE).

Diversity in College and Why it Matters
An article by Josh Moody, US News. Published date: March 31, 2020.

Trans-Atlantic slave Trade 
Database that includes information on dispersal of enslaved Africans across the Atlantic World from 1500 - 1850. 

In Motion: The African American Migration Experience
Presents more than 16,500 pages of text, 8,300 illustrations and 60+ maps.

Black Past.org
This page is dedicated to provide information on the history of African America and the people of African ancestry around the world. 

Underground Railroad Locations: The William Still Story
A PBS site that "tells the dramatic story of William Still, one of the most important yet largely unheralded individuals of the Underground Railroad. Still was determined to get as many runaways as the could to "Freedom Land", smuggling them across the US border to Canada."

National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC)
NMAAHC "is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans."

African American History Month: by Library of Congress
"This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration." 

The History Makers: by Library of Congress
"The Nation's largest African American Video Oral History Collection." Includes thousands of biographies of African American History Makers in a variety of fields. 

  

 

Below are a few sample videos from TEDx and one of our databases for streaming videos (Kanopy). Search for more videos on your topic from these databases listed below: 

Colors: Race & Ethnicity (Kanopy)

Ask a Librarian!

The library is Open now!

Research Databases containing Articles, eBooks and Videos are available to our students, faculty and staff 24/7.

To access the databases, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted. No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login when prompted before entering a database.

Have a question? Ask us!

Phone:
Reference832.559.4211
Circulation: 832.559.4206


Chat with a Librarian

Email us: tcref@lonestar.edu
 

 

 SMS / Text us: 281.826.4488