LSC-Tomball: Library Research Guides: U.S. History since 1877: Print Books

Searching the Online Catalog

Search the LSCS Libraries' Online Catalog:

Citation Help

APA Style Guide

APA Style7 Guide for References List and In-text citation

Refer to this quick guide to create your References list and help with in-text citation.

Chicago Style Manual

Notes & Bibliography Citation Guide
This guide provides examples and tips on how to cite sources in the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

Notes & Bibliography Overview
View this handout for a more detailed explanation of how to use the Chicago Notes & Bibliography style.

MLA Style Guide

MLA Style Guide - 8th edition

Short list of books available in the library

Atlas of American History by Gary B. Nash (Editor); Carter Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 911.73 Nas
ISBN: 9780816059522
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Chronicles the cultural, political, and social history of America from the earliest Native Americans to the twenty-first century through narrative accounts, photographs, illustrations, boxed features, and over two hundred color maps.
Documents of American History by Henry Steele Commager; Milton Cantor
Call Number: E173 .D59
ISBN: 9780132172745
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
United States -- History -- Sources
v. 1. To 1898 -- v. 2. Since 1898.
Adams' Dictionary of American History by Michael Rheta Martin; Leonard Gelber
Call Number: E174 .D52
ISBN: 9780684138565
Publication Date: 1977-02-01
United States -- History -- Dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of American Political History by Paul Finkelman; Peter Wallenstein (Editor)
Call Number: E183 .E48 2001
ISBN: 9781568025117
Publication Date: 2001-03-02
World War I, Mass Death, and the Birth of the Modern Us Soldier by David W. Seitz
Call Number: D524.7.U6 S45 2018
ISBN: 9781498546874
Publication Date: 2018-06-20
The "uncensored" view from afar: American perceptions of the Great War, 1914-1917 -- "Body and soul and spirit": mobilization, conscription, and mass death, 1917-1918 -- A crisis of speech: addressing mass death and the trauma of war, 1918-1922 -- Why they died: public memory and the birth of the modern U.S. soldier, 1922-1933 -- Conclusion.
Pershing's Crusaders by Richard Faulkner
Call Number: D570.1 .F38 2017
ISBN: 9780700623730
Publication Date: 2017-03-17
The most systematic, comprehensive, detailed, and up-to-date study yet published of the experiences, daily life, and representative attitudes of the American soldier (Army & Marine) in World War I. It will be a seminal source for anyone interested in the World War I-era American army and/or the history of early twentieth-century America.
We Will Always Be Here by Denise E. Bates (Editor)
Call Number: E78.S65 W4 2016
ISBN: 9780813062631
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Adding to the growing scholarship on Native history in the American South, Denise Bates here gathers first-hand views from current tribal leaders and activists who are on the front lines of modern debates over identity and sovereignty.
The Texas Liberators by Aliza S. Wong
Call Number: D810.V42 U684 2018
ISBN: 9781682830239
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
"A collection of oral narratives from liberators of the Holocaust that lived in Texas. Includes professional portraits, service photos, and a listing of all Texas Holocaust liberators"-- Provided by publisher.

Browsing the Shelves (2nd Floor)

Use the Library of Congress (LC) and Dewey Decimal (DD) system call numbers from the chart below to browse the shelves to find materials on the topics mentioned below.
Ask a Librarian if you need help!

Subject	LC Call No.	DD Call No.
North American History	E 45	973
Indians of North America	E 75-99	970.1
General United States history	E 151-180	973
Military, Political and Diplomatic history	E 181-185	355
Colonial history	E 186-199	973.2
The Revolution 1775-1783	E 200-298	973.3
Revolution through early Nineteenth Century	E 300-398	973.4
The War of 1812	E 351	973.5
Mexican War	E 400-415	972.03
Middle Nineteenth Century, 1845-1861	E 415-440	973
Slavery	E 444	973.71
Civil War period	E 456-655	973.73
Abraham Lincoln	E 457	355, 920, 973.8
Ulysses Grant	E 672	355, 920, 973.8
Early Women's rights advocates	HQ 1412	324
American voting rights history	JK 1846	342
Military Leaders	UB 210	973