Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine: Clinical Services Program -From Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Neurosurgery
Martindale's: The Virtual Medical Center - Links to medical dictionaries and glossaries, interactive anatomy browsers, and online medical journals, as well as surgical and anesthesiology sites.
MedlinePlus (National Institutes of Health) -Contains extensive information on over 740 diseases/conditions and prescription and nonprescription drugs. Other key features are a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and hundreds of videos of actual surgical procedures performed at U.S. medical centers in recent years.
MedlinePlus: Surgery - From the National Library of Medicine, authoritative, current information on a wide range of surgeries. Take special note of the sections on Latest News and the interactive patient tutorials.
MedlinePlus: Videos - The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) created these animated videos to explain topics in health and medicine, and to answer frequently asked questions about diseases, health conditions, and wellness issues.
Medscape -Free access to full-text, peer-reviewed clinical medicine articles.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Surgical Technologists - This website by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics gives important detailed information related to the Surgical Technologists profession.
Occupation Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) - 'With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.'
PubMed - Over 17 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950 provided by the National Library of Medicine. Limited full-text.
Spartanburg Technical College Surgical Technology Web - This site provides a glossary of surgical technology terms and includes photographs of instruments, equip ment, and operating room setups.
Surgical Instruments from Ancient Rome - A display of surgical instruments from antiquity.